Oh, Ipsy! – August/September

My September bag came while I was away having surgery earlier this month and it seems that in the groggy hustle and bustle of coming home it got tucked away next to my night stand when we got back – but still, even with all things considered, I can’t believe my Ipsy nearly slipped my mind! Let’s take a peek at what goodies this month brought!

For anyone who may not know, Ipsy is a beauty subscription that mails you 5 deluxe samples or full size products/items in a different adorable little bag for $10 a month U.S, with free S&H. (If you find you’d like to give it a try please use my referral link, here, that gives me a few reward points. I’d appreciate it so much, Thank you! ♥)

September Ipsy Glamazon insta

The theme this month is Glamazon, “Too glam to give a damn“. And I have to agree, the beginning of Autumn is certainly a perfect time to do just that!
Our bags are very glam this month too; a black fabric laced with tiny shiny silver threads throughout and  a “painted” graphic of four ipsy girls strutting their stuff in front of a gold banner across the front, with a gold zipper and a black liner inside.

The goodies inside:
▫ Dirty Little Secret – Eyeshadow, in Teaser  [1.5 g/0.05 oz.]
▫ Dr. G – Daily Safe B.B, in Fair [5 ml/0.17 oz.]
▫ Rodial – Dragon’s Blood Hyaluronic Tonic [15 ml/0.5 oz.]
▫ Living Proof – Perfect Hair Day 5-in-1 Styling Treatment [30 ml/1 oz.]
▫ Too Faced – Lip Injection Extreme [1.5 g/0.05 oz.]

More on all of these next month after I’ve given them a good bit of use and have an opinion to share, which means we’re on to how I did with all of Augusts lovely goodies.

August Ipsy Sugar Highness insta

Augusts theme was Sugar Highness, with the lovely Michelle Phan of Ipsy designing two gorgeous bags that subscribers had the chance of getting; I absolutely love mine!
[Although I was able to take my own product photos this time around, as you can see I should have taken a bit more time to set up and gotten things from more of a fixed position. So my apologies for some items being cut off, it will look much better next round.]

820august20ipsy20-20sugar20highness20-instaI always get excited to see The Organic Pharmacy in my bag, I love the brand – but they’re on the expensive side so it’s nice to be able try before deciding if something is worth the investment. Sadly, the Rose Facial Cleansing Gel isn’t one for me. It cleanses very nicely, doesn’t dry the skin and contains a lot of things to make your skin happy. But the one thing it lacks is any sort of Rose, not a single mention in the ingredients. Leaving me to think it’s part of the “Parfum”, which would explain the horrible fake rose scent; and it is strong! Which is sadly what turns me away from this particular product.

Retails: $85.00 US [100 ml]
Cruelty free, environmentally friendly, fair trade.

820august20ipsy20-20sugar20highness20-insta

Oh my goodness! It’s always nice to get new beauty “tools”, but this Paris Pro Series Applicator Sponge from Beau Gachis is absolutely the best one yet! It easily doubles in size when wet (shown dry) and is so very soft and bouncy, it feels as wonderful applying foundation/concealer/etc as it applies them. Washes easily, latex-free. I truly love this sponge!

Retails: $28.00 US [Double Ended & Tear Drop Duo] Some brushes made of animal hair.

 

820august20ipsy20-20sugar20highness20-insta

I rather enjoyed the Marc Anthony, Nourishing Argan Oil of Morocco Deep Hydrating Treatment as well. It’s rather thick, so working it into wet hair a little goes a long way; after a use my hair feels so extremely soft and very well hydrated. I can see people with lots of sun exposure in the Summer months and anyone in areas with cold Winters and dry heat like me really liking this deep conditioner. The smell is also really lovely, light and refreshing, reminds me of a tropical beach but nothing too strong.

Retails: $2.99 US [1.69 oz.]
Not cruelty free.

820august20ipsy20-20sugar20highness20-instaThe Nomad Cosmetics, Intense Eyeshadow was also a very pleasant surprise! Having tried another of their shadows I knew the formula is really nice to work with and their colors are very well pigmented. They apply smoothly, build up wonderfully and blend out rather nicely alone and with other shadows/shades. Wear time is nice as well, longer with a primer.

Retails: $47.00 US [Palette of 6 shadows, eyeliner, travel mascara & dual-brush.]
Cruelty free.

820august20ipsy20-20sugar20highness20-insta

In the shade Spice Market, a gorgeous color for Fall.
Single swipe swatches, no primer,
left is a shadow brush, right is a finger swatch.

 

 

 

820august20ipsy20-20sugar20highness20-insta
While the NYX Professional Makeup, Born to Glow Liquid Illuminator on the other hand didn’t really want to work for me. It was absolutely a shade issue though; with a soft finger I can carefully apply and get a lovely light highlight glow. But even just a bit too much fussing with it and it disappears into my complexion; the lighter shade will be perfect. It has a very nice consistency and application, and no scent.

Retails: $7.50 US [0.6 oz/18 ml.]
Cruelty free, parent company is not.

 

Overall I am absolutely thrilled with my August Ipsy, well worth the $10 subscription and than some for this bag for me, especially when you take into account the gorgeous little makeup pouch too. I’m also really looking forward to trying out my September glambag goodies now; I’ve been on the hunt for the right B.B cream for me and I’m curious how a higher end fairs to drug store – come back for the October unbagging and hear all about it with my September reviews!
Oh speaking of, I’ve read that the theme for October is Black Magic, and I could not be any more thrilled and excited!! My favorite month and holiday, I can’t wait to see what Ipsy will bring.

Until next time, the best of thoughts, hopes and wishes with lots of love. xoxo

2 thoughts on “Oh, Ipsy! – August/September

Leave a Reply

