Oh, Ipsy! – September/October

I have been anxiously awaiting my Ipsy this month, knowing the theme and how adorable the bag is – and yes, what I was getting (because I am a total sneak peaker) – I was too excited!

For anyone who may not know, Ipsy is a beauty subscription that mails you 5 deluxe samples or full size products/items (face, body, hair) in a different adorable little bag for $10 a month U.S, with free S&H. (If you find you’d like to give it a try please use my referral link, here, that gives me a few reward points. I’d appreciate it so much, Thank you! ♥) Not affiliated or sponsored.

Let’s see what goodies my favorite month of October has brought!

Oct Ipsy - Black Magic - insta

The theme for this month is appropriately Black Magic, and came in a soft pink printed synthetic canvas bag with an adorable witchy Halloween print designed by the ever talented Ilse Valfré (her shop), with a too cute heart eyed ghost zipper pull on the black zipper and a black liner inside.

The goodies inside:
▫ tre’Stique – Mini Matte Lip Crayon, in Belize Bordeaux  [0.02 oz./0.7 g.]
▫ pūr~lisse – Daily Lip Nourisher with Mango & Shea Butter [0.16 oz./4.5 ml.]
▫ Lottie London – Perfectly Precise Eyeshadow Brush
▫ Make Up For Ever – Ultra HD Invisible Cover Foundation, in R230 [0.05 oz.]
▫ essence cosmetics – Super Fine Eyeliner Pen Waterproof, in Black [0.03 fl oz/1.0 ml.]

More on these next month with Novembers unbagging; now let’s look back at my September bag and all of the goodies I’ve been using over the last month!

9 September Ipsy - Glamazon -insta

The theme from September was Glamazon, and I had a lot of fun… and some not so fun, trying out all of my goodies. While I’m familiar with all of the brands and even love a couple, these were all first time use products for me so let’s get into how I did with things!


I like Dirty Little Secret, so I was excited to get one of their shadows; the shade is an ipsy exclusive though, I’m sorry, I hate to share things you can’t find if you’d like. – Named Teaser, it’s a silky light copper. Some fallout during application but it blends smoothly and builds nicely. During wear I did use a primer and setting spray, had no creasing and the wear time was nice.

Shade Teaser (an ipsy exclusive), a lovely transitioning shade for Fall and natural looks. – Single swipe swatches, no primer. Left is a finger swatch, right is a shadow brush.

Retails: $38.00 US [6 g./0.2 oz. Palette of 5 shadows]
DLS is a Cruelty free brand.

I must admit I hadn’t heard of Dr.G until now, however while I’m intrigued by the brand, they haven’t sold me on BB creams.
The Daily Safe B.B is best applied by sponge in my experience as applying by finger seemed to make the product accentuate my large pores and dry areas. It did help even out my skin tone, and is very nicely pigmented with almost no scent. However, as someone with large pores, acne prone, combination skin this product unfortunately doesn’t seem to be for me.

Retails: $32.00 US [45 ml.]
No information on animal testing is available.

I adore Too Faced, I’ve also yet to try their Lip Injection Extreme and I never mind a good plumper! But was sadly disappointed. It’s very heavily fruity flavored & scented. While most plumpers use a cinnamon or mint to irritate and plump, this uses Capsicum Frutescens Resin, a type of chili pepper – giving much more of a burn than a tingle and I’m sadly not a big fan.

Retails: $28.00 US [0.14 oz./4 ml.]
100% Cruelty free brand. Vegan product.

Rodial is another new brand for me, I’m really enjoying their Dragon’s Blood Hyaluronic Tonic. It’s a wonderfully refreshing spray toner with a light scent of rose water that left my skin feeling lightly moisturized and helped the appearance of pores. However the price point just seems a bit much for what it is and contains.

Retails: £33.00 UK/$40.37 US [5 oz.]
Cruelty free brand, sells in China. Vegan product.

Living Proof is another brand I love, while their Perfect Hair Day 5-in-1 Styling Treatment was new to me, and it is really nice. I have above shoulder, thick, wavy to curly hair and a little of this goes a long way. I prefer to naturally dry and my hair was silky soft, bouncy and frizz free. Staying manageable, stylable and not oily for three days+. I would purchase if they were cruelty free.

Retails: $15.00 US [2 oz.]/$27.00 US [4 oz.]
Not cruelty free.

So it seems my September glambag was a bit half and half for me, with a couple of items I loved, one that’s nice to have and two others that just aren’t for me personally. All in all not a bad bag and worth the $10.

Until next time, my best of thoughts, hopes and wishes with lots of love. xoxo

Leave a comment